about the series
A sweeping, action-packed YA fantasy trilogy.

The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand in its way. Who will stop it… or unleash it?

For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations―until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared. All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction.

Praise for the series

A Morris Award Finalist for best debut young adult novel!


A Tor.com Best YA SFF/Horror Book of the Year!

A Kirkus Best Book of the Year!

An Indigo Best Book of the Year!


“One of the most stunning debuts of the year.” Seventeen

“A can’t miss debut from an exciting new talent.” New York Time bestselling author Kiersten White

* “A well-crafted, surprising, and gripping start to a new trilogy.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* “Pool accomplishes a masterful balance of exposition, action, and characterization . . . full of genuinely surprising and interesting twists that will have readers anxious to get to the last page.” The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, starred review

“I dare you not to fall madly in love with the cast of characters.” New York Times bestselling author Laura Sebastian

“Reading this intricate YA fantasy, you get the feeling Katy Rose Pool’s plot is always seven steps ahead of you. You’ll want to catch up as quickly as possible.” Refinery 29

* “High stakes, abundant action, and realistic romances.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

* “[S]et apart by its immersive worldbuilding and compelling narrators.” Shelf Awareness, starred review

“Explosive.” New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland

“[G]ripped me until the very last pages.” —Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

There Will Come a Darkness feels both utterly original and like the best of classic fantasy” —Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand